//
you're reading...
journal, list, reading

Some Things I Did When I Wasn’t Blogging

  1. -I had Thanksgiving dinner for the first time at a buffet. It was lots of fun. No dishes. Same food. Easy to clean-up.

-My Dad took the bus from NYC to be with me and his granddaughter. It was an interesting experience. Some fatherhood posts are forthcoming.

-On my weekly trip to the library I picked up a couple of books that I read before (Naomi Shihab Nye’s You & Yours, and Lucille Clifton’s Voices) I think re-reading is so absolutely necessary. I think the meaning becomes clearer and strikes different chords on the second round, and third, fourth, etc.

 -I thought a lot about writing. Writing poems. Shaking the dust off a couple of essays I have rattling in my head which reminds me, I haven’t gotten paid for a piece I did for a local newspaper. I need to make a phone call tomorrow.

-I’ve been working on my grad school applications: requesting recommendation letters, slapping a few poems around like I’m a bad mama jamama (shut yo mouth) I’m really excited that I’ll only have to pay one application fee: compliments of being a Ronald E. McNair Scholar.

 -I watched the movie Hairspray with my daughter; It was set in Baltimore and since she’s a native of Baltimore it was interesting, though the film is set in the 1960s. I’m a huge fan of Queen Latifah and found the flick entertaining. Though, I couldn’t figure out why John Trovolta played a female character…? We also watched the beginning of Miss Jane Pittman. It’s hard to watch these films with children in the room. Kayla wants to know…why doesn’t the girl have shoes? Because she’s a slave. What’s a slave?

– I had a wonderful show last Monday on my radio show, Poet’s Corner. I have a new host, poet Carolyn Joyner, and we discussed political poems. We got quite a few calls. It’s a topic I’d like to explore more as it’s not discussed in a way that I find satisfying.

– I have yet to see the film Precious. I absolutely have to see it not so much because I think I’ll enjoy it but because I’m a culture critic; it’s my job to the a watchdog of sorts for black cinema.

-And finally, I’m looking for film enthusiasts. I’m a part of a team starting an online publication dedicated to black independent film. We could really use some interns, and film enthusiasts who don’t mine donating an article pro bono.

About Abdul Ali

I'm a fellow at American University studying creative nonfiction and poetry. I write across a few genres but it's all brought together by larger questions about culture.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

