//
you're reading...
news, personal essays, politics

Obama’s Speech on Unemployment

In October, I left my job or I was fired. My position was terminated. However you slice it my future was uncertain. Surprisingly, I was clear-sighted through it all. I remember it was the tail-end of October. The trees were shedding much like the big and small companies around the nation. I was grateful that payday was the following week so that November’s rent wouldn’t be a concern. As a child, I moved around often. Being jobless didn’t scare me as much as having to telephone my landlord and explain what I had hoped to be a private moment of shame.

As soon as I collected my things from my office to begin my new life as a twenty-five year old with more time on my hands than I ever had in a long time, several questions popped in my head. What will I do about health insurance? What if my five year old gets sick? What if I get sick? What if I didn’t find anything? Did I have the stamina to go through the whole process of applying for unemployment or worst, social services?

As President Obama gears up for his speech on unemployment, here are some items I’d like to see included in the discussion:

FOR COMPLETE ARTICLE VISIT THE GRIO.COM

About Abdul Ali

I'm a fellow at American University studying creative nonfiction and poetry. I write across a few genres but it's all brought together by larger questions about culture.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

