//
you're reading...
journal, music, poetry

Starting a Poetry Band

One of the challenges of being an artist is having to decide which “art” to push centerstage. We’re all so very complex. Even as writers, there’s such a fertile ground. And, God forbid you don’t choose, you’ll descend into a dilettante. And it will begin to affect other areas of your life. It’s difficult to move forward with your attention compromised in so many directions. 

 Lately, though, I’ve been trying to see the connections between what I do and others do. For instance, I’m a writer  interested in  performance. Ossie Davis was a writer who performed. And I’d like to think that his understanding of language I love music. Always have. When The Roots performed live at Constitution Hall, I was floored that they were an actual living, breathing Hip Hop Band.

I wonder how difficult it would be to piece together a Poetry Band? Nothing big, an instrument or two,  a DJ, and me reading some poems. I’d want to keep it light.

Any takers? Suggestions? Drop me a line!

About Abdul Ali

I'm a fellow at American University studying creative nonfiction and poetry. I write across a few genres but it's all brought together by larger questions about culture.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

