//
you're reading...
Africa, Culture, interview, poets and writers, politics

Remember Maya Angelou before Celebrity?

I came across this interview with Maya Angelou from the 1980s, and it occurred to me that this is the woman whose voice and words I fell in love with. I read her autobiographies and world literally opened up to me. I don’t hear this person speak when I see her interviewed these days. Granted, she’s much older now and probably feels very secure in her contributions that she doesn’t need to posture as anything. It just bothers me that so many of my friends don’t know her beyond reading her poem at President Clinton’s inauguration. What a Renaissance Woman she is! Acting, directing, dancing, traveling, writing, etc.

How strange is celebrity: it’s a double-edged sword because most artists want to be able to live off of their art and often celebrity affords that. It’s a Catch-22.

Here’s the interview.

About Abdul Ali

I'm a fellow at American University studying creative nonfiction and poetry. I write across a few genres but it's all brought together by larger questions about culture.

Discussion

One thought on “Remember Maya Angelou before Celebrity?

  1. Yes! I miss her too.

    Posted by eclectique916 | December 30, 2009, 3:13 PM

Leave a Reply

