//
you're reading...
journal, poetry

Deep Breath

This is just a short note to update Words Matter readers that I appreciate all of the support you all have given me these past four months. The numbers are unbelievable–hundreds of folks are logging-on to see what’s going on in this virtual world I’ve created.

For those of who you may not know the great poet, Lucille Clifton has transitioned. I hope each of you will get your hands on a volume of at least one of her poems and read them out loud either to yourself or someone you love. Her words crawl on you like a welcomed wind in the midst of a heat wave. And they tell the truth like your mama when you’ve done something stupid. Ms. Clifton will not be forgotten. I’m so grateful the brief moment, I spent with her as I was waiting in line to get a children’s book of hers and one of her volumes of poetry signed at the Folger’s here in Washington, D.C. I shared with her that I was a poet thinking about getting an MFA. She immediately said “you don’t need an MFA to write good poems.” I’ll always be grateful to Ms. Clifton for that as I needed to hear that in that moment more than anything.

For those of you who’ve checked out my recent article on TheRoot about the enduring spirit of the film, Love Jones. Thank you so much! I’ve received a number of emails from readers around the country. The article itself has sparked some interest in Words Matter and on the whole it’s made me feel very good to connect with so many visionary filmmakers and writers and movie goers like myself.

Like Al Green sings, Let’s stay together. We really can bring about a radical new framework for black cinema. Stay Tuned.

About Abdul Ali

I'm a fellow at American University studying creative nonfiction and poetry. I write across a few genres but it's all brought together by larger questions about culture.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Deep Breath

  1. insightful post.

    hope to read you more…
    😉

    Posted by jingle | February 16, 2010, 4:00 PM
  2. Keep up the good word, Abdul. Your writing is good and I’m always glad to know what you’re thinking! By the way, I saw a flier this morning at Montgomery College, Takoma Park, announcing that you were doing a poetry reading there — yesterday! I wish I’d known. Hope it went well.

    All the best! Joe

    Posted by Joseph Ross | February 16, 2010, 7:49 PM

Leave a Reply

