//
you're reading...
Family, NYC

Blogging from New York City

For the entire month of April, I’ll be blogging for the Tidal Basin Review’s blog. I feel very fortunate as this will be their first month blogging and they are publishing one of my new poems. So please, support the Tidal Basin Review.

That said, I plan to post teasers of my blog posts for TBR on Words Matter. I hope you enjoy and continue to read!

Writers are obsessed about home. Well, at least I am. I haven’t lived in New York in over ten years. Yet each time I return those feelings fade away and I taste New York as if it’s my first time yet I’m familiar. Sorta like making love to an ex after years have passed.

Since Monday, I’ve been in New York City. Some people call this the Big Apple. The hub of the art world.  A great place to shop, and so on. I call it “home.” Each time I return to New York there’s an unselttled feeling like both New York and me are ghosts that are too restless to stay buried. I’m always amazed at how much takes place in this city. There was a Black Writer’s Conference in Brooklyn that I didn’t attend but I was able to connect with my good friend, Courttia, who came all the way from across the pond to be in the city.

Here are some things I’ve done so far:

I took my writer friend, Courttia Newland to Harlem for lunch at Sylvia’s.

Check out the Tidal Basin Review Blog

About Abdul Ali

I'm a fellow at American University studying creative nonfiction and poetry. I write across a few genres but it's all brought together by larger questions about culture.

Discussion

One thought on “Blogging from New York City

  1. Oh, How jealous am I? Jealous! I need to bribe those Tidal Basin Review people with gummy bears or doughnuts or something. Oh I am so green! I am turning into a hater! OK, not really. Love you, Double A. Right on. hee hee

    Posted by Laura Hartmark | April 1, 2010, 8:19 AM

Leave a Reply

