//
you're reading...
DC, photography

Portraits of a Photographer’s Muses

 For as long as I can recall photography has been a central force in my life. It may have had something to do with my uncle being a photographer. But, I suspect it was something more than that. How you can stare at a photograph for an hour, then come back to it and see something different. It’s always been fascinating to me.

When I moved to Washington, I noticed photographer Mig shooting many of the literary events. At some point, I met her husband poet Brandon Johnson and got to see more of Mig’s work. One day, probably while our kids were playing, she share an idea to photograph DC poets. It was exciting because I always wanted to do something to bring together DC poets. So I wrote a grant that was accepted at the American Poetry Museum. I titled our collaboration The Washington Caravan after The famed anthology, The Negro Caravan. 

Mig Dooley is important and noteworthy because she’s a bridge to the Scurlock Family and historic photographers like James VanDerZee.

Her family, she says, is her muse.

Husband, Brandon Johnson

Son, Cyrus Johnson

Daughter, Naomi Johnson

To check out more of Mig’s work, visit her site.

About Abdul Ali

I'm a fellow at American University studying creative nonfiction and poetry. I write across a few genres but it's all brought together by larger questions about culture.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

