//
you're reading...
MFA Journey

Hiatus is Over. . .

 

I needed to throw my hat back in the race, and by race I mean, stating relevant in this tech-centric age of blogging and what not. So, what has kept me away from blogging….hmm.

  • I’ve been doing a ton of reading, hundreds of pages, reading criticism, underlining and commenting in margins. Writing poems, reading poems, reading my colleagues’ poems. And being disappointed at parts of the workshop experience but I’ll get into that in another post.
  •  I’ve been organizing a poetry contest for AU’s lit journal, Folio, which will be judged by Naomi Shihab Nye. This is really exciting.  I’ll be posting more details at a later date.
  • Hustling- because my time is so absorbed in school this makes it difficult to apply for actual jobs. But, so far things have been working smoothly.
  • Commuting back and forth to Baltimore to be with my six year old who just started first grade.The biggest adjustment so far hasn’t been all of the hours of reading or being a full-time student. It’s the utter culture shock of being in a very different space. And mixing my pesonality with very different ones. (More on this later.)

Along the way, I’ve made some discoveries about myself, the world, and I look forward to getting past this first semester.

About Abdul Ali

I'm a fellow at American University studying creative nonfiction and poetry. I write across a few genres but it's all brought together by larger questions about culture.

Discussion

One thought on “Hiatus is Over. . .

  1. I’m glad you’re back in the game. And can’t wait to read alllllllllllllllll about it 🙂

    Posted by ankhademic | September 27, 2010, 12:05 PM

Leave a Reply

