//
you're reading...
summer break, writing life

Summer is Here

My spring semester concluded right before May 1st. All and all, my first year of graduate school was successful. The thing of it is that with so many deadlines and competing deadlines I found myself unable to get inside the right headspace to discover, play, and write the things I wanted to write. So, here I am with some money in the bank, lots of time on my hand, and opportunity.

It occurred to me the other day that having a lot of free time can be a dangerous thing for me. While I crave freedom, I work well within some kind of structure. Thus, I’m creating my own writing projects and deadlines. I’m also looking for an easy part-time job to bring in some extra dough.  But as for production I have an ambitious list of things I want to do this summer:

1. Work on a couple poetic sequences

2. Rewrite my play about Nina Simone

3. Research on fatherhood

4. Get steady work from online and print magazines

5. Get physically fit.

Things sounds like a lot, huh?

About Abdul Ali

I'm a fellow at American University studying creative nonfiction and poetry. I write across a few genres but it's all brought together by larger questions about culture.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

