//
you're reading...
Culture, Flash Back, music

Fade to Black

flashback_fades

There’s a “flashback” section in almost every magazine that I read, usually on the last page. Typically, some historic icon or moment is recovered for all to appreciate. I thought I’d cop this journalistic feature here on Words Matter. Since this is a blog about culture, I thought I’d start things off by sharing a cultural moment.  Albeit a private one, that  moment of recognition that time is flying, that you’re getting older and coming full circle.

I recently went to the barbershop. Amy Winehouse’s Fade to Black was playing. I requested the coveted “fade.” I believe here in DC, it’s referred as “tapered” sides. I hadn’t done this in some time but I felt I needed a change. It’s always fascinating to stare in the mirror and watch your scalp fade from flesh to black.

Growing up in Queens, where the rap-turned-acting duo Kid-n-Play were very popular, I’d get a lot of comparisons to Kid. Now that I think of it, high tops were a bit much to maintained but like most things back then, they were a part of the Hip Hop zeitgeist. Everyone was going to house parties back then. Except me.

About Abdul Ali

I'm a fellow at American University studying creative nonfiction and poetry. I write across a few genres but it's all brought together by larger questions about culture.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

