//
you're reading...
event, list, news

January is Here…

It’s been a while since I had time to sit and give this blog the attention it deserves. But here are a few things that are going on:

  • Split This Rock Poetry Festival is hosting a fundraiser on Jan. 18th. R. Dwayne Betts will be headlining the event along with the DC Youth Slam Team. Hope to see you there.
  • I’ll be reading poems at Bus Boys at 14th and V on Sunday, January 17th at 4pm. This will mark the fourth year of the Sunday Kind of Love reading series. The cast are all twenty-something DC area poets. I’m delighted to be reading with Danielle Evennou and Adam Pellegrini.
  • This month also marks the release of the new anthology of DC Poetry: Full Moon on K Street edited by Kim Roberts. I’m very honored to be a part of this anthology of such distinguished writers. I believe I’m the youngest poet listed in the anthology as the content is in chronological order by birth year.
  • The Hurston/Wright Foundation will be hosting a very special event on Friday, January 15th at 6:30 pm at the Charles Sumner School. It will be a discussion of MLK’s landmark speeches and their relevance for today.
  • Finally, I joined a writing group today. I was suspicious of writing groups for a long time but I’ll keep you posted on my progress. (I won’t be focusing on poetry in the group; Instead, I’ll be flexing my muscles at nonfiction and fiction.)
About Abdul Ali

I'm a fellow at American University studying creative nonfiction and poetry. I write across a few genres but it's all brought together by larger questions about culture.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “January is Here…

  1. Hey Abdul! We met in the writing group yesterday, and then I noticed your website in your signature. What an awesome site, & very impressive writers bio. Great to have you in the group & look forward to reading your work!

    Posted by Therese | January 11, 2010, 4:12 PM

Leave a Reply

