//
you're reading...
journal

Happenings

Things have been happening so fast. I looked up this weekend and realized January was out. Everything’s beginning to get crowded: tax season is upon me, writing is backlogged (thanks to new writing group, brother’s gonna work it out), grad school applications, new online publication I’m involved with about to drop about indie black film shorts, and so on.  Not to mention, I’ve been the poet-in-residence for the Arlington Public School Pick-a-Poet program. I’ve been teaching high school. What an interesting experience that has been. God Bless Teachers! Not sure how they do it.

While mostly everyone I know has a television, I just got a new one the other day and realized there was a live cable wire in my apartment. So for the past week, I’ve been OD’ing on too much TV One, BET, National Geographic, and Food Network. It’s all very new to me. I went through college without a television. I listened to the radio. Read the newspaper. Log-in to Facebook…

I just finished reading a wonderful collection of poems and hope to interview the poet really soon. I also have some other things that I’m working on that I plan to post.  Stay Tuned.

Peace.

About Abdul Ali

I'm a fellow at American University studying creative nonfiction and poetry. I write across a few genres but it's all brought together by larger questions about culture.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

